Cheesesteak recipe

When I was young, the key to my heart was candy. Or pizza. Now that I have aged some years and discovered the more savory side of life… the key to my heart is a delicious cheesteak.

Not exactly the kind of healthy dinners I’ve been trying to have lately, but I couldn’t help myself. This isn’t really a cheesteak, but it’s the next best thing I could make in my kitchen :3 The cube steak is a great option because it’s very tender, and so there’s no issue with slicing it ridiculously thin or anything. Very simple, quick, and so delicious. I’ll definitely make this again someday ;D

Cheesesteak with peppers & onions

Adapted from here.
Makes about 4 servings

* 1 tbsp olive oil
* 1 tbsp butter
* 1 lb cube steak
* salt & pepper, to taste
* 1/2 onion, sliced thin
* 1 ½ red bell pepper, seeded and sliced thin
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 6 white mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
* an additional 1 tsp olive oil
* 3/4 cup sherry
* 4 tbsp worcestershire sauce
* a few dashes tabasco, to taste
* 4 deli rolls (I used a french baguette, cut into 6″ pieces)
* sliced provolone cheese, to taste

Cut cube steak into strips against the grain. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat. Add butter, and work quickly to add strips of cube steak, browning in two batches, about 1 1/2 minutes per side. Remove meat to a clean plate when brown. Set aside.

Reduce heat to medium-high. Add onions, garlic, and red pepper,  cook for 5 minutes, or until relatively soft . Remove to a clean plate. Set aside.

Add the additional olive oil to the skillet. Add sliced mushrooms and stir. Pour in sherry, then add worcestershire and tabasco. Cook over medium-high heat for five minutes, or until liquid has reduced by about a third.

Add in meat and vegetables, stirring to combine. Cook for just a few minutes to heat everything up.

Toast halved deli rolls until crisp. Spoon meat/veggie mixture on the lower half of the bun, then spoon one or two tablespoons of pan sauce over the meat. ) Top with cheese and broil for a minute or two, until the cheese is melted.

Serve immediately.

Note:
-The original recipe had lots of butter, and I cut it down to about 1 tbsp and subbed some EVOO instead. I love butter but I didn’t feel this dish really needed it.

One response to “Cheesesteak recipe

Leave a Reply

